Church

In the beginning, church was community.

It was sharing
– a meal,
stories,
journeys,
lives.

But I think that sometimes we forget

Because, somewhere along the line,
church has become a building
(falling apart, and
filled with committees).

And we’ve missed the point

You see, I believe that God
will not be put in a box,
to be brought out on Sunday.
That praying before a meeting
isn’t the reason God’s there
…She just is.

And I believe that Jesus
Loves us.
– not some of us
– not part of us
But all of us.

So, I’m sick and tired of being told that I don’t belong
– of people quoting scripture at me,
hoping to convince me that I’ve
got it all wrong.

Faith is not certain
it is not safe
after all
it’s not called a leap for nothing.

Leave a Reply

